And That’s A Rap

Over the last thirteen weeks, I have been learning to quilt mostly from online sources. A few times I did seek support/advice from the employees at Fabricland, a classmate, and a family friend. But this was only when I had a question about something I had found online. When I first heard that we were being asked to spend 50-100 hours learning a new skill from online sources and then sharing our progress online, I was a little skeptical in how successful I would be with this project. I thought that learning a skill from online sources was not going to meet my learning style. I know that personally I am a visual and auditory learner. I feel that I learn best when I am told how to do something or shown how to do something. As well, I like to be given a finished product and then figure out how to recreate that product.

Before taking ECMP 355, I associated learning from online sources as learning information rather than skills. I thought skills were best learned in face-to-face situations were you could observe demonstrations of the skills, practice the skills, and then receive immediate feedback. I think my views on how skills are best learned are influenced by my previous experiences. However, after learning to quilt using online sources, I now realize that there is so much information online that you can learn any skill. Due to the mass amount of information available, there are so many different methods and perspectives available that you are bound to find one that will work for you. If one method or resource does not make sense, then you can supplement your understanding with another resource.

Before this semester, I associated online sources with reading long, professionally written texts where I would have to pull the information out that I needed. However, I now realize that online resources can be divided into two different groups. The first group of resources is websites. I found the most beneficial websites in supporting my learning journey were personal websites like blogs. With these types of websites, the information was straight forward and easy to understand. Especially if the information was presented in point form and well organized using pages, categories, and subheadings, it was easy to follow and comprehend and, in turn, had a more successful outcome. The websites that also included pictures were helpful because seeing a visual of what they were writing about helped clarify their words.

The second and my favorite type of resources are videos. I found videos the best way to learn online because often, the person giving the directions was actually doing the steps. I found that through the videos, I got more detailed instructions rather than just the highlights of what you are suppose to do. Furthermore, pictures are great but with a video I was able to see how to successfully get to each step. Finally, I liked that with videos I am able to perform the task along with the video.

Below is a chronological list of the things I have learned along my quilting journey.  When visiting each blog post, you will see my favorite and most useful resources that supported each step of my learning and why I liked each resource or found it useful. To see my full quilting journey and all of the resources that got me to a finished product please check out my blog under the My Major Project (ECMP 355) tab.

Highlights of my Quilting Journey:

  1. Choosing to Quilt
  2. How to thread the sewing machine and wind the bobbin
  3. How to have a clean seam where the thread is not bunching up
  4. Video: What I have learned so far 
  5. Choosing a style of quilt and what pattern I would use
  6. How to choose fabrics that will look good together
  7. How to cut the fabric into blocks and then strips
  8. How to design an appealing to the eye quilt top
  9. How to sew the blocks together, how to press seams, and how to square the blocks off
  10. How to connect the blocks into rows
  11. How to solve the problem of the blocks not being square
  12. Loosing quilt pieces
  13. How to sew the rows together into a completed quilt top: How to sew long seams
  14. What a border does to a finished quilt top
  15. How to add a border
  16. How to quilt the quilt top, batting and backing together
  17. How to bind the edges

After completing all these steps I have a wonderful finished product that I am so proud of!!

My Finished Quilt!!

My Finished Quilt!!

Leave a Reply

