From Quilt Top to Quilt

Now that my quilt top is officially complete with the addition of a border, it is time to quilt all the layers together. A finished quilt consists of three layers: the quilt top, batting, and the backing. For my backing I chose a pink fabric that is consistent with the flower theme of many of the prints I used in the quilt top. As well, I will be using cotton batting because it is a thin batting so it is less bulky and easier to use for machine quilting. Cotton batting feels like thick flannel so it will be warm and it creates a very soft and comfortable quilt. It is also very durable and washes well. This was an important fact for me when choosing a batting because I am so proud of my quilt top so I did not want something that was going to break down and then in a few years I would no longer be able to use my quilt any more.

The fabric I will be using for the backing.

The fabric I will be using for the backing.

All three layers put together.

All three layers put together.

I was very overwhelmed with how I was going to successfully accomplish this step. Fortunately I have a great family friend that helped me a little bit as well as allowed me to use her sewing machine because mine was too small for this part. The first thing I had to do was basting. Basting means that you are attaching the three layers together. The first video I watched showed how to baste the layers together using the spray basting method. I thought the video made this look pretty easy as it was portrayed in the video that if there was a bubble or a wrinkle, you could just lift the quilt top up and smooth it out again. The video did not illustrate any problems or downfalls with this method so I thought this would be perfect for me because it looked like there was limited amount of room for error.

I watched a few more videos to learn how to successfully baste the layers together. One video I really liked showed two different methods of basting: spray basting and pin basting. Again this video shows spray basting to be quick and easy as you just have to spray the spray on and then smooth out the fabric overtop. Pin basting also looked effective but very time consuming. So I still thought that spray basting was the method I wanted to go with. However after talking to my family friend she shared with me that she thought these videos did not do a very good job of portraying what would happen with spray basting after you tried to pick up the quilt to take it to the sewing machine. Apparently it is common for the layers to fall apart while quilting when you use spray basting. I was very miss led by the videos. So I decided to go with pin basting. The following video gives a good explanation of how to perform the pin basting. But the demonstration is hard to see and, in turn, is not very helpful. I think the explanation is straight forward enough that I should still be able to do it.

Pin Basting

Pin Basting

Once I was done basting it was time to do the quilting. Quilting is the stitch that holds all three layers together. There are many different styles of stitches that you can use to finish your quilt. I found the following video very helpful in making an educated decision in what stitch to use. Each stitch was described as to what the visual appeal of it was. As well as how difficult it would be to execute the stitch. That way I was able to find a good balance between something that would look nice but still not be to difficult to do. I have decided to go with the loopy stitch because I think it looks fun and will not take any attention away from the print of the fabrics. As well I was attracted to the loopy stitch because of the fact that you don’t have to keep the pattern perfect or the same all the way through the quilt.

The type of stitch I will be using.

The type of stitch I will be using.

I actually found this to be the most fun part of my quilting journey. My family friend put her darning foot on her sewing machine and I went to town freelance sewing the loopy pattern all over my quilt. I followed the instructions of the above video by starting in the middle and working my way out to the edge and then around the outside.

Quilting all three layers together.

Quilting all three layers together.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: And That’s A Rap | Jenaya Taylor

Leave a Reply

