How to Add a Border

I have been mulling over the idea of adding a border for a couple of days just to make sure that I really want to add a boarder to my quilt. In the end, I defiantly think it is the right thing to do. So here goes nothing.

I have discovered that having the internet right at your fingertips with endless information can be both a positive thing and a negative thing. It’s positive because you can find the answer for any question or how to do pretty much anything. However, the amount of information can sometimes be overwhelming. And, of course, with the amount of information you are bound to run across some conflicting views. This was especially true when trying to figure out how to put the border on my quilt. I found eight different methods I could use to tackle the border, and I am sure there is many more out there.

I have narrowed it down to what I think are the two best methods demonstrated in the videos below:

Quilting for Absolute Beginners – Adding boarders correctly

How to Make a Quilt Boarder – Cutting and Measuring- National Quilter’s Circle

I have chosen to go with the method in the first video because the quilt used in the video was not square so it is proven to work on a non-square quilt. Therefore, I feel like I will have more success with this method. As well I found this video very helpful because it went through the whole process off adding a border: measuring the border, cutting the boarder, pinning the border, attaching the border, sewing the border and ironing the border. Some of the other methods I found only covered bits and pieces of the process so then I would of had to fill in the blanks, which could be problematic. As well, I liked learning this process from a video because I feel like you get more information when the person giving you the information is actually doing it while they are giving you the instructions. That way, they tend to articulate everything they are doing and thinking rather then just then highlights of what you need to do.

So now it was my turn….

Like in the video, the first thing I did was measure the top, middle, and bottom of my quilt. My measurements came out not as wonky as I thought they would. The top is 66 inches, the middle is 66.75inches, and the bottom is 66.5 inches. So the middle measurement is 66.5 inches, so that is the measurement I will be using to make my boarder strips. I ended up cutting my boarder strips a little longer just in case. It was a good thing I did because as I found out the video did not explain that you had to re-measure after every strip to take into account for the added length the border was adding.

My Measurements.

My Measurements.

Here you can see the extra length that the border on the other side added.

Here you can see the extra length that the border on the other side added.

The fabric I chose to use for the boarder was on sale so I bought enough of it so that I would not have the join the strips (always looking for ways to eliminate places of error). Once I had all my board strips cut, I placed a pin in the half and quarter mark of the boarder and the quilt. This is how you ensure that the edge gets lines up correctly. Then, one at a time, I laid the strips with right side together on the edge of the quilt and lined up the raw edges. Between each pined mark, I would then pin every four inches. I used my previous resource on how to position the pins. If the border did not perfectly line up with the quilt between each mark you were able to stretch it a little bit to make it fit and lay flat. Finally, I took it over to the sawing machine. It was a very slow process to sew on the border because I was constantly stopping to take out a pin but I guess that is an okay price to pay to make sure I got the boarder on straight. The one bonus to having to do all this pinning was I got to use the fancy pin cushion made in grade 9 home arts to good use! The final step in adding the border was to press the seams. You would think after all the pressing of seams I have already done throughout this project I would know how to effectively press by now. However, this video shows a more effective method that produces crisper seams. This just proves that we are life-long leaners and can always improve our skills.

Placing the border and the quilt right side together.

Placing the border and the quilt right side together.

Lining up the raw edges.

Lining up the raw edges.

Pinning all the way along the border to ensure that it is straight.

Pinning all the way along the border to ensure that it is straight.

I made sure the border was flat as I pinned it on.

I made sure the border was flat as I pinned it on.

Because I cut the borders a little long I had to trim the extra length.

Because I cut the borders a little long I had to trim the extra length.

I am so happy with how the borders turned out. I think it finished the quilt top really nicely and makes it look like a whole piece of art rather then just a blanket.

DONE!!!! I LOVE MY QUILT TOP!!!

DONE!!!! I LOVE MY QUILT TOP!!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: And That’s A Rap | Jenaya Taylor

Leave a Reply

