Going Above and Beyond- Adding a Border

If you have been following my journey of becoming a quilter, you would have seen my excitement when I thought I was done my quilt top. Well surprise, surprise I am not done. According to my pattern, I am finished. However, I have decided I want to add a border. My first stop in trying to figure out how to go about adding a boarder was Generations quilt patterns. I have used this website as a reference many times throughout my project and I really like it because it explains the steps in easy to understand terms and point form so it makes sense. I find the point form easy to follow as it breaks down each step for you and gives you just the information you need to get the job done and not a lot of extra information. I was a little scared to find out that adding a border to your already unsquare quilt (which mine is) could make the quilt look even more unsquare. But I have done my best to get my quilt square and it is as close to square as it is ever going to be. So, because there is nothing I can do about it so I have decided to go ahead and add the border anyways. The reason I have decided to add the boarder is because I felt that the quilt needed a little something to make it look a little more finished.

Quilt without a boarder. Don't you agree it needs a boarder?

Quilt without a border. Don’t you agree it needs a border?

Adding a border to a quilt has many advantages such as:

  • Adding more size to your quilt. This really had no effect in my reason to add a border. It does not really matter to me what size my quilt ends up beings because I plan to just use it as a couch throw so it’s not like it needs to be the size of a bed.
  • Framing your quilt. This will help direct your eye where to look, which is the effect I was looking for. When there was no border, I found that my eye did not know where to look because of all the shapes, colors and patterns. As a result, the quilt was a little loud and in your face.
  • Enhance color scheme. The color chosen for the border can draw out colors used in the main part of the quilt that many not be noticed otherwise.

All these advantages sounded really great! Once I saw a picture of a finished quilt with and without a border I knew I had to add a border. The pictures helped to cement that I made the right choice to add a border even if it was going to draw more attention to the fact that my quilt might not be square. I really liked getting to see the illustration as to what a quilt will look like with a boarder versus not having a boarder because it helped me make a more educated decision. When learning something online and not having someone to bounce ideas off of, I find it really helpful to have illustrations depicting different ideas.

The Misty Morn without a boarder.   photo credit: http://www.adventurequilter.com/e-Learning/Articles/Borders1.html

The Misty Morn without a border.
photo credit: http://www.adventurequilter.com/e-Learning/Articles/Borders1.html

The Misty Morn with a boarder. photo credit: http://www.adventurequilter.com/e-Learning/Articles/Borders1.html

The Misty Morn with a border.
photo credit: http://www.adventurequilter.com/e-Learning/Articles/Borders1.html

I like how the black boarder on the quilt “The Misty Morn” (pictures above) defines where the quilt ends, draws your eye to the snowflake and shadows of the trees and contrasts the lighter elements in the quilt. I think for my boarder I will go with a darker color as well. A majority of the colors in my quilt are light so I am hoping that if I use a dark border, it will have the same effect and make the rest of my quilt pop.

The fabric I will use for the boarder on my quilt.

The fabric I will use for the boarder on my quilt.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: And That’s A Rap | Jenaya Taylor

Leave a Reply

