Moving on to Bigger and Better Things

I am starting to realize that quilting is a very long, time consuming, and tedious process. Sewaholic explains quilting as: “you make a block, and then a bunch more, and then you sew them all together to make the quilt top”. Sounds simple right? That’s what I thought too but, let me tell you, it is a LOT harder then it sounds. All the little steps that go into making each block or sewing all the blocks together make each process a lot more work than I could have ever expected.

Finally!!! I never thought this day would come, but I am on to the step where I get to sew all the rows together to make one big quilt top. If you have read my blog 1 Square at a time you probably have a good idea of the process I am going to have to use to sew the rows together. The process is very similar to when I made each row, the only difference is that I will be working with more fabric and sewing longer seams.

Sewing longer seams brings its own set of challenges. With the seam being longer, there is more time for your seam allowance to get off. I was really worried about this because, as we all know, I am not an expert sewer. Quilty has a large online collection of online instructional videos. Episode 318 is entitled How to sew Long Seams. This video offered a lot of helpful tips and tricks:

  1. Take your time and stop often to check the underside.
  2. Don’t hold your fabric too tight. You want to just guide the fabric and let the machine do the rest of the work.
  3. Set the seam before you press it.
  4. Change what side is on top because then if one seam is a little off it will correct itself with the next seam being the other way.

After sewing my first and second row together, I noticed that a few of my blocks were not lining up. I thought this was just another side effect of the blocks not being square. I was kind of disappointed because I had worked so hard to pin the seams together of each block but it still managed to shift while sewing. However, the blog Craftsy did not let me down again and offered a solution to prevent this from happening again. The suggestion was that I sew each seam together and then sew the whole seam together. Most of the rest of the roles are pretty accurate.

The blocks that do not line up in the first two rows.

The blocks that do not line up in the first two rows.

When, I finally finished sewing all the rows together I discovered that my quilt was a little unsquare. It is suggested that if it is under ¼” off then it is okay. I measured corner to corner to see how much off mine was. Unfortunately, mine was of by just over an inch so I had to try and square it off. I did not have a square big enough so I folded the quilt into quarters so that it was small enough to use my square to square off the four sides. The closest I could get it was about 3/8” off so its not quit ¼” off but as close as I could get it so I am just going to run with that.

Please check out the My Quilting Journey Haiku Deck I made to illustrate the process of sewing the quilt top together. This is the first time I have made a Haiku Deck so it was some new technology to play around with.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: And That’s A Rap | Jenaya Taylor

Leave a Reply

