1 Square at a Time

After 2 spools of thread, winding the bobbin 4 times, 2 pieces of burnt fabric (don’t ask how I managed that!), 1 trip back to the fabric store, a few mistakes, 4 ripped out seams (thanks mom for showing me how to do that!), and 3 nights of sewing until the wee hours of the morning I am happy to say that I am officially done sewing all the blocks.

The next step in my journey of quilting is to sew the blocks into rows of six. My pattern  offered very little direction on how to do this, but luckily there are some great visuals that show what it should look like when the rows are all sewn together so I think I have figured it out. I have found visuals very helpful when learning things online. When you are learning how to do things online, you only have as many instructions as have been posted. You can’t ask for further explanation like you can when you are learning how to do something face-to-face with the teacher. However, I have found that if I am a little confused as to what the instructions are saying, if there is a picture as to what I am suppose to achieve I can usually figure it out.

 

Great visuals in the pattern to help when there is not enough instructions.

Great visuals in the pattern to help when there is not enough instructions.

All 36 blocks done a ready for the next step!

All 36 blocks done a ready for the next step!

Even though I was pretty sure I knew how I was suppose to sew the blocks together, I wanted to double check so I tried to find another resource to explain the process. However, I was not successful in finding anything. I am going to following a similar process as to when I sewed the strips together into blocks. I will start by putting the blocks right side together, then I will sew the blocks together using a 1/4” inch seem allowance. Then, once all the blocks are sewed together into a rom, I will take the row over the ironing board to press the seams flat. The one thing I do know from my pattern is that I need to press the seams in opposite directions in each row so that it will make sewing the rows together easier. One thing that I need to look into later is if I am suppose to square off the strips before sewing all the strips together. If anyone has an advice on this I would greatly appreciate it!

Right Side Together

Right Side Together

1/4 inch seam allowance.

1/4 inch seam allowance.

First finished row!! :)

First finished row!! 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Moving on to Bigger and Better Things | Jenaya Taylor
  2. Trackback: And That’s A Rap | Jenaya Taylor

Leave a Reply

