Designing My Quilt!

I am now at the step of arranging all the strips back into blocks and then the blocks into a pattern for the quilt. The strips have to be arranged into blocks so that the two outside strips are the same color/pattern and the two inside strips are different colors/patterns. So in each block there should be a total of four colors/patterns. My Pattern  suggested that I go about this by first just mixing and matching the strips, sewing the strips together into the blocks, and then arranging the blocks into a pattern I like. However, my brain does not let me work like this. I do not like when things are random, I like to be able to plan out what I am going to do and know what my end product will look like. I was unsure how I was going to go about making sure that the pattern of how the blocks were laid out had the appearance of looking random.

I find one negative side of learning how to quilt from online rather then taking a class or being apart of a quilting group is you don’t have anyone to help you navigate the pattern. Therefore, there is no one to go to when you are confused or to offer advice on the best way to go about doing something so that it looks good. On the other hand, a positive of learning from online sources is that when you don’t understand something from one source there is many other sources that you can explore to support your learning. So that is what I did. I set out the learn from other sources how to design my quilt. And what I found out is making a quilt look completely random is not random at all. There is many different ways one can go about arranging your quilt to look like the pattern is random, you just have to figure out what rules you want to follow. Some of the suggestions of rules that I based my arrangement off of was: not having any two colours/patterns beside each other or not having the same colour/patter in the same row or column. I did not follow either of these rules exactly but I used them to guide the creation of my own rules.

The rules I followed for laying out my quilt were: the outside strips of my blocks go in the pattern green, pink, blue, and white. This helped me to ensure that there were no two colours beside one another. Then, because I have three different patterns within each colour, once I had set the order those patterns came in I followed that all the way through. As well, I tried not to have the same size of patterns beside one another. I did not intend for this to happen but it ended up that my columns either alternated blue and green or pink and white. Therefore, if the outside strips are green and blue, it ended up that the inside strips are pink and white. Alternatively, if the outside strips are pink and white, the inside strips are green and blue. I wanted to have this rule so that every block had every colour in it. I am very much a visual learner so the sources I found helpful in choosing what rules I was going to follow were ones where the rules were explained and it included a visual showing how to implement the rule.

I discovered another system where you can make sets of blocks with each block having its own colour palette. However, there was no image or demonstration to go along with this method. It sounded like a good idea but I could not fully comprehend what the video was saying. I guess that is one downside of learning things online there is only so much information available on somethings and sometimes it is not enough. Because I could not find enough information on this concept, I was not able to use it in my quilt.

When I was arranging my quilt I laid it out on my basement floor so that I could see the whole thing at once to make sure I was happy with it. But readers I now need your help! Below is a picture of the design I am going to go with for my quilt. I would appreciate it if anyone would comment if they see any place where I don’t follow the rules I set for laying out my quilt or if anyone as any advice on how to make the pattern look more random. Thanks!

Getting ready to design my quilt.

Getting ready to design my quilt.

Laying out the outside strips of each block following the pattern of green, pink, blue and white.

Laying out the outside strips of each block following the pattern of green, pink, blue and white.

Final design! What do you think? Ps notice the few blank spaces? I need to buy a bit more fabric for those places because I messed up cutting some of the strips.

Final design! What do you think? Ps notice the few blank spaces? I need to buy a bit more fabric for those places because I messed up cutting some of the strips.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jenayat
    Mar 08, 2015 @ 03:18:45

    I found two places where I made a mistake and did not follow the rules I had made for laying out the strips of my quilt. See if you can spot where the mistakes are.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Houston We Have A Problem | Jenaya Taylor
  3. Trackback: And That’s A Rap | Jenaya Taylor

Leave a Reply

