Freedly

I choose to use Freedly as my RSS reader. At first I was struggling with using the search engine, and I am still not sure I fully understand how to search for blogs and articles. I have figured out how to search using hashtags or by the categories that are predetermined by Freedly. However, I cannot seem to figure how to search for blogs/articles only using key words and then follow those blogs. I find that the downside of searching by hashtags is that I am limited to a generic search which results in information that is not overly relevant. This could be because I am still new to Twitter and don’t know or understand many hashtags. The main hashtags I used for searching were #edtech #education and #teaching. After spending a long time combing through the results, I found some interesting blogs to follow. I also looked on Twitter for some blogs that my friends were following. I found some blogs that interested me but I could not figure out how to find them on Freedly so that I could follow it. So I still have some learning and exploring to do with Freedly but I like the idea of having one location you can go to receive and organize different resources.

The blog that I found the most interesting was called Learning with ‘e’s: My thoughts about learning technology and all things digital. This blog is written by a man by the name of Steve Wheeler. Wheeler is an associated professor at Plymouth University in the area of learning technology in the in the institute of Education. I found his blog very easy to navigate due to the different features. Three of his posts really caught my eye were: Teaching with Twitter, Video for Assessment, and Integrating Teaching into Teaching.

As I am sure you know by now, I am far from being an expert in the Twitter department. The other day in our Twitter chat, there was lot of talk on the value of Twitter for teachers and students. Some of the topics covered were that it creates engaging, interactive and in-depth learning opportunities, as well as it allows students to expand beyond their everyday experiences. I think these sound like great ideas however, I have very little idea on how to go about doing it. The blog post “Teaching with Twitter” offers ten uses for Twitter that could be beneficial in the classroom. The uses range from using it for: activities that could directly be linked the curriculum (‘Summing Up’, ‘Time Tweet’, ‘Micro Write’); to keep students organized (‘Twit Board’); used by students for sharing information/ working together (‘Twit Links’, ‘Tweming”). I think my favorite suggestion for using Twitter that this blog offers is ‘Twitter Shadowing”. Teachers could use this to make a spin on the traditional Heritage Fair.

The second post that I really enjoyed reading from this blog was entitled “Video for Assessment”. I am always looking for new ways to perform formative assessment. This post offered an idea that I had never really thought of before and that was having the students create a video of what they have learned. I think this is a great way of performing formative assessment because as stated in the blog it allows the student to see what they learned which could open a conversation about their strengths and what they could continue to work on.

The final blog post that was of interest to me was called “Integrating Technology into Teaching”. The ideas discussed in this post were very interesting to me and will help guide my continued professional development in successfully integrating technology. There are two different levels of technology in the classroom: using technology in the classroom and integrating technology for learning. I feel like I am still at the stage of using technology in the classroom.

My Freedly Page

My Freedly Page

Leave a Reply

