The Mystery of Bunching Thread… Solved!!

I found some great resources online when I was trying to learn why my thread was bunching up under my fabric when I would sew, particularly when I would back stich. If you are not familiar with sewing terminology, back stitching is exactly what it sounds like: sewing backwards. Every sewing machine will back stich slightly differently but, in the end, they all do the same thing, for the same reason. You back stich when you start sewing and when you finish sewing to secure or lock your stiches into the fabric. If you did not back stitch after you finished sewing, you would be able to just pull the stiches out. So in other words it is very important that I figure out why my thread is bunching up and will not back stich properly. If you are interested in learning more about why you back stich or how to back stick check out this great tutorial with great step-by-step instructions of what you should be doing and pictures to go along with each tip.

I am now following a great blog called Craftsy.After exploring the blog, I can see that this is going to be a resource that I use a lot to quilt due to its mass amount of information. This blog does not only cover sewing and quilting but also cakes and cooking, yarns and fiber arts, home and garden, jewelry and paper crafts. It’s like a one stop shop for crafters. One of the coolest features that this blog offers is free mini classes. I have enrolled in a class called “Welcome to Sew Ready: Machine Basics”. It is five video lessons that you can watch as many times as you want. You can also post questions for other people enrolled in the class to answers. I watched all five of the videos. However, I did not find out why I was having the problem with my thread bunching up. As I explored the blog more I found a post called Sewing Machine Thread Bunching UP? Here’s Why!. I found out from this blog post that it could be because my machine or bobbin was threaded incorrectly. I rethreaded both the machine and the bobbin. I believe that I have everything threaded correctly because on the Singer Customer support and trouble shooting site (brand of sewing machine) it offered a helpful little test to check if your swing machine was threaded right. And when I performed that test it showed that indeed I had everything threaded right.

So I knew that there had to be a problem other then how the machine was threaded. After reading an article called Understanding Thread Tension in a magazine called Threads: from people who love to sew I discovered that the problem was being caused by my tension disks. If you tread is looping/bunching on the bottom of your fabric, it means the tension disk is too loose. I slowly started tightening the tension disk. I tightened it a quarter increments each time. After each time I tightened it I would test it. Once I got it as close as I could, I had to change to tension of the bobbin case. I found out that for the stiches to be even, I want the tension of your top thread to be as close to the tension of the bobbin as possible. To adjust the tension of the bobbin case, I followed the pictures in the article. I had to take the bobbin and bobbin case out, and ever so slightly tighten the little screw in the bobbin case. Finally I was able to sew a clean line with no bunching or looping of thread. One step closer to being able to learn how to quilt!!

Tension disk that needed to be adjusted.

Tension disk that needed to be adjusted.

Adjusting the tension of the bobbin case.

Adjusting the tension of the bobbin case.

Tension disk was too loose.

Tension disk was too loose.

Tension disk was to tight and the thread was fraying.

Tension disk was to tight and the thread was fraying.

Getting close!

Getting close!

Finally- able to sew a clean line.

Finally- able to sew a clean line.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. katiahildebrandt
    Jan 25, 2015 @ 20:12:19

    Jenaya – your learning project is looking great so far! Great job of including images and hyperlinks in your posts – maybe try creating a video of your progress?

    Like

    Reply

  2. Trackback: And That’s A Rap | Jenaya Taylor

Leave a Reply

